THROW NOT YOUR DART OF HATE

Throw not your dart of hate

What is it about my proud air

that draws out such evil intent,

that brings you here, with your

curled spiteful lips and narrowed

bellicose stare. Can you not give

thanks you are not so afflicted,

as a man whole you should be

content. What barbs of fate

have snagged your heart, pierced

your mind with such a bitter bane,

that amusement can be found in

wanton hate. I can grant you respite,

throw not your foul dart, for I have

my ego slain. Such is the armour

I wear that neither sword or spear

can my sanctuary breach. Take heed

poor creature, listen and fear, evil

sent always returns thrice fold.

To you ‘change’ I beseech,

consider yourself told.

3 thoughts on “THROW NOT YOUR DART OF HATE

  1. Sorry for the delay I wasn’t able to locate this post of yours in the past, I vividly recall you suggesting me to go through this particular post of yours in response to a poem I had written about bullying. Thanks for recommending me this post it was very insightful & after reading this lovely post of yours I feel hate doesn’t just corrupts the victim’s self-respect somewhere deep down it destroys their soul as well. Thanks for raising a voice in this context.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m really glad that you still remember that conversation because witnessing the greatness of your creativity for the first time was a blissful experience for me. I sincerely apologize for the delay from my end in going through your post as I was unable to find it back then. I’m following you now & really do look forward to reading your writings more often. Hopefully someday we can collaborate on a poem together 🙂 Till then my warmest regards to you & your family. Please do stay in touch friend, I look forward to reading more of your poems in the near future 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.